## **National Safety Awards (MINES)**

### 1. Introduction

During the post independence era, mineral industry in India has achieved tremendous growth and also imbibed latest mining technologies. Along with this growth, there has also been corresponding awareness of the need to protect the health and lives of workers. The Constitution of India casts an obligation on all of us to ensure just and humane conditions of work. To give due recognition to outstanding safety performance at national level, Ministry of Labour, Govt. of India instituted National Safety Awards (Mines) in 1983 for the contest year 1982. Thereafter every year on the basis of outstanding performance National Safety Awards (Mines) is given to various mines.

# 2. Scope

The scheme is applicable to all mines which come under the purview of the Mines Act, 1952. Such mines have been classified into 7 groups as given in Table No. 1.

Table No. 1

S.No.	Type of Mines
1.	Coal mines - Belowground with difficult mining conditions
2.	Coal mines - Belowground (others)
3.	Coal mines - Opencast
4.	Metal Mines – Mechanized Opencast
5.	Metal Mines – Manual Opencast
6.	Metal Mines – Belowground
7.	Oil Mines

### Note:

A belowground coal mine operational for at least six months during the contest year is considered to have difficult mining conditions if its working depth is 300 meters or more OR it satisfies at least two of the following conditions:

- 1. Working degree III gassy seam;
- 2. Having long wall face(s)worked for at least six months;
- 3. Having mechanized development/depillaring workings;

- 4. having depillaring workings with thickness of extraction greater than or equal to 3.6 metres;
- 5. working seam(s) having a gradient of 1 in 3 or steeper

A mine having both belowground and opencast workings are treated as belowground mine if the output from belowground workings is 50% or more of the total output. Otherwise it is treated as opencast mine.

A mine is considered as mechanized opencast if the output from all opencast workings is 50% or more of the total output during the contest year and the output from mechanized faces is 50% or more of the total output from opencast workings.

#### 3 Schemes:

Among different indices available, the following two have been accepted as indicators of safety performance:

- Longest accident free period (LAFP) in terms of man shifts worked during three consecutive years ending with the contest year.
- Lowest injury frequency rate (LIFR) during three consecutive years ending with the contest year

It is expected that every mine shall Endeavour to improve its safety performance. A bad mine has a high injury frequency rate. After obtaining a break-through, its next attempt should be to achieve longest accident free period in terms of man shifts worked.

### Note:

- Injury frequency rate is computed as the total of the number of persons killed per 1 lakh man shifts multiplied by 50 and the number of persons seriously injured per 1 lakh misfits. In case several mines achieve the same lowest injury frequency rate, the mine that worked largest number of man shifts during the last three years ending with the contest year is declared winner.
- Due to speedy mechanisation in opencast coal mines, some mechanized opencast mines having lower manshifts are not getting prizes in spite of good safety performance. To take care bof this, for opencast coal mines two more prizes (one WINNER and one RUNNER) are given on the basis of lowest injury frequency rates per million cubic metre of output.
- For scheme-2 (i.e. LIFR), the manual opencast metalliferous mines (i.e. Type-5) are divided into two subgroups based on manshifts worked; the first subgroup consisting of the mines with man shifts worked greater than 0.5 lakh during the contest year and the second subgroup comprising the mines with manshifts worked less than or equal to 0.5 lakh.
- From the contest year 1999 the system of one mine one prize is being introduced. If a mine is eligible for a 1<sup>st</sup> prize in one scheme and IInd prize in another scheme it will be given the 1<sup>st</sup> prize only.

### 4. Awards Committee:

**4.1 Composition :** The awards committee is constituted by the Ministry of Labour with Director General of Mines Safety as its Chairman, eight representatives of mine managements, eight representatives of trade unions and an officer of DGMS as its Member-Secretary.

### 4.2 Functions of the Committee:

- To scrutinize and adjudge applications received for awards.
- To require further particulars or to defer consideration of application for further investigation
- To depute any person to inspect the records of any contesting mine
- The committee may reduce number of awards or decide not to give an award to any mine in a contest group(s) for any reason it may consider fit.

### 5. Mode of operation:

An advertisement is released through DAVP in English, Hindi and other regional languages inviting applications in prescribed proforma for National Safety Awards (Mines). An entry fee of Rs.100/- per application is charged through a crossed IPO drawn in favour of the Administrative Officer / D.D.O., DGMS and payable at Dhanbad Post Office. The prescribed application form is jointly signed by the mine manager and a workers' representative.

### 6. Scrutiny of Applications:

Data furnished by contesting mines for the contest year are scrutinised at the Headquarter of DGMS. Such particulars are also verified by the officers of DGMS during their inspections of such mines. The list of award winning mines is finalised with approval of the members of the National Safety Awards (Mines) Committee.

A total of 32 National Safety Awards (Mines) for the contest year will be given away by the Honourable President / Vice President of India at New Delhi.