The Prime Minister's Shram Awards were instituted in 1985, for the workers in recognition of outstanding contribution towards production, and for showing exemplary zeal and enthusiasm in discharge of their duties in the Central/ State Governments Public Sector and Departmental Undertakings. The Awards are presented to the workmen as defined in the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 and employed in the Departmental Undertakings of the Central and State Governments, Central and State Public Sector Undertakings and private sector having minimum of 500 employees on roll and engaged in manufacturing and productive processes and whose performance is assessable. The total No. of awards are 33 details of which is as under:-

SI.	Name of Award	No. of	Cash Prize		
No.		Awards			
1.	Shram Ratna	1	Rs.2,00,000		
2.	Shram Bhushan	4	Rs.1,00,000 each		
3.	Shram Vir / Shram Veerangana	12	Rs. 60,000 each		
4.	Shram Devi/ Shram Shree	16	Rs. 40,000 each		

^{*} The Shram Ratna Award would be common for both the Public and Private Sectors and the remaining 32 awards would be shared equally by both the sectors, i.e. 16 each for Public and Private Sectors. In case of awards being shared by a worker with team and/or different teams/other individual worker, the award money would be equally shared by the total number of workers {members of the team(s) + individual worker}. While the total number of awards in one year would be thirty three, in case awards for any one or more categories are not being given, these can be distributed among the other lower categories. It may not be mandatory to give all the prizes every year. Besides the cash prize, awardees would also receive a "SANAD" from the Prime Minister. The awardees are also eligible for 75% concession in 2nd Class Rail Fare.

- 2. Eligibility: The awards will be given to workmen who have distinguished record of performance, devotion to duty of a high order, specific contribution in the field of productivity, proven innovative abilities, presence of mind and exceptional courage. The awards may be given to those workmen also who have risked their lives or made supreme sacrifice of laying down their lives in the conscientious discharge of their duties.
- 3. All the nominations received through the Selection procedure: administrative Ministries/State Governments in the case of departmental undertakings of the Central and State Governments and Central and State Public Sector Undertakings and that of private sector through their National Associations/Chambers will be scrutinized and graded in descending order award-wise by a Technical Committee. The Technical Committee is chaired by an eminent personality in the field of technology with representatives from employers' organizations, central trade unions, experts scientific/technical institutions of repute and DGFASLI. The Technical Committee will make recommendations for various categories of awards to the Screening Committee. The Screening Committee under the Chairmanship of Secretary (Labour) associating members at Joint Secretary level from PMO, Cabinet Secretariat, Home and Public Enterprises will further consider the recommendations of the Technical Committee and will make final recommendations for the approval of Hon'ble Prime Minister. These awards shall be announced on the eve of the Independence Day every year.
- 4. Announcement and distribution of the awards: These awards are announced on the eve of the Independence Day and are distributed in the public function to be chaired by the Hon'ble Prime Minister as per his convenience. The awardees are also allowed the following facilities for attending the Prime Minister's Shram Awards Presentation Function:-

- i. To bring one guest
- ii. Air Fare (Economy) or expenditure incurred on actual mode of travel both ways, whichever is less, both for the awardee and one guest.
- iii. Lodging facilities for two days both for the awardee and one guest, and
- iv. Out of pocket expenses of Rs. 2,000/- for both the awardee and one guest.
- 5. Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the year 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.
 - Awards for the year 2008, 2009 and 2010 were given by then Hon'ble Prime Minister on 13.10.2011 in a function held at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.
 - At present, Awards ceremony has to be organized for the Award year 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Details of the numbers of the awardees are as under:

PMSA	2011	2012	2013	2014	2015	2016	Total
Shram Ratna	-	1	-	-	-	-	1
Shram	6	8	7	9	4	12	46
Bhushan							
Shram Vir /	33	20	15	19	24	18	129
Shram							
Veerangana							
Shram Devi/	29	41	18	26	28	20	162
Shram Shree							
TOTAL	68	70	40	54	56	50	338

- 6. As per PMSA Scheme, the awardees will receive a cash award ranging from Rs.40,000/- to 2,00,000/-. Besides the cash award, awardees are also eligible for 75% concession in 2nd class Rail Fare. However, as the awards have not been distributed, the awardees are deprived of the cash award and rail fare concession till the distribution of awards. This may adversely affect the encouragement of the workers and may also adversely affect the number of applications/nominations for the award.
- 7. The total awardees for Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the years 2011 (68), 2012 (70), 2013 (40), 2014 (54), 2015(56) and 2016(50) are 338. The Ministry requires minimum three months' time for making various arrangements (including printing work and booking of accommodations etc.) for the awards Presentation Funtion, once the date of Presentation Ceremony is conveyed by the Prime Minister's Office.

Year wise details of Awards

Name of Award	Year of Award						
	2011	2012	2013	2014	2015	2016	Total
Shram Ratna	-	1	-	-	-	-	1
Shram Bhushan	6	8	7	9	4	12	46
Shram Vir /	33	20	15	19	24	18	129
Shram							
Veerangana							
Shram Devi/	29	41	18	26	28	20	162
Shram Shree							
TOTAL	68	70	40	54	56	50	338