#### **PRESS NOTE**

# PRIME MINISTER SHRAM AWARDS FOR THE YEAR 2016 ANNOUNCED

The Government of India today announced the Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the year 2016 to be awarded to 50 workers employed in the Departmental Undertakings & Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments and Private Sector Units employing 500 or more workers in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.

This year, no nomination was found suitable for the presitigious Shram Ratna Award. Twelve nominations for the Shram Bhushan Award, Eighteen nominations for Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana and Twenty nominations for Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards have been selected. Even though, the total number of Shram Awards confered this year are 32, the number of workers receiving the Awards are 50 (Including 3 women), as some of the Awards have been shared by workers and/or teams of workers consisting of more than one worker. These include 34 workers from the public sector and 16 workers from the private sector.

## SHRAM BHUSHAN

Total number of Shram Bhushan Awards are four. It carries a cash award of Rs. 1,00,000/- and a 'Sanad'. Total number of Shram Bhushan Awardees are twelve including two female for the year 2016 in respect of Public Sector Undertaking and Private Sector. The names of awardees are as under:-

S. No.	Name of Awardees S/Shri	Jointly or not	Name of Organization	
1	Sabita Panda		SAIL, Rourkela Steel Plant, Odisha	
2	Raj Kishore Sahu			
3	Birendra Kumar Sahoo			
4	Jhasaketan Mishra	Jointly		
5	Niranjan Majhi			
6	Manoj Kumar Gharai			
7	Rabindra Kumar Bishoyi			
8	Sunaram Murmu			
9	T Guna Sekaran	Jointly	BHEL, Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu	
10	K Rajalingam			
11	Shibdas Pal		TATA Steel Ltd., Bistupur,	
12	Meena Rathore		Jameshedpur, Jharkahand	

### SHRAM VIR/VEERANGANA

Total number of Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Awards are twelve. It carries a cash award of Rs. 60,000/- and a 'Sanad'. Total number of Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Awardees are eighteen including one female. The name of Shram Veer/Veerangana Awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertaking and Private Sector are as under:-

S.	Name of Awardees	Jointly or	Name of Organization
No.	S/Shri	not	Y
1	Ramesan Pillai Balan Pillai		
2	Midathade Jyothi Raju	Jointly	Naval Dockyard, Visakhapatnam
3	Varahagiri Venkata Venu Sagar		
4	Kutten Pillai Rajan		
5	Aditya Naik		SAIL, Rourkela Steel Plant, Odisha.
6	Biswanath Murmu		
7	Salomy Panna	Jointly	
8	Prafulla Kumar Patra		
9	Sanjay Kumar Sahoo		
10	Amit Kumar Agrawal		Ordanance Factory, Khamaria, Jabalpur (MP),
11	K. Ayyapillai		Engine Factory Avadi, Chennai
12	Battula Koti Reddy		Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd., Visakhapatnam
13	Lingaraj Nahak		TATA Steel, Bistupur, Jamshedpur
14	Daitary Bindhani		Paradeep Phosphates Ltd., Odisha
15	Ajay Kumar Pandey	v I	Hindalco Industries Ltd. Renusagar, Sonebhadra (UP)
16	Sanjeev Kumar Sinha		TATA Steel Ltd., Bistupur, Jameshedpur
17	K. Ram Prasad		BrahMos Aerospace Pvt. Ltd., Hyderabad
18	Amarjit Ray		TATA Steel Ltd., Bistupur, Jameshedpur

## SHRAM SHREE/DEVI

Total number of Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards are sixteen. It carries a cash award of Rs. 40,000/- and a 'Sanad'. Total number of Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Awardees are twenty. The name of Shram Shree/Shram Devi awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertakings and Private Sector are as under:-

S.	Name of Awardees	Jointly or	Name of Organization	
No.	S/Shri	not		
1	Chintada Kumar		BHEL, Hyderabad	
2	Bholanath Behera			
3	Arjuna Charan Behera		SAIL, Rourkela Steel Plant, Odisha.	
4	Manoranjan Sahu	Jointly		
5	Ramesh Kumar Nayak			
6	Tapas Ranjan Sahu			
7	L.B. Singh		BHEL, Bhopal	
8	Chandra Engti		Cement Corporation of India Ltd., Bokajan, Assam	
9	T.M. Thammaiah		BEML Ltd., Mysore	
10	Kripa Xaxa		Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd., Visakhapatham	
11.	T. Rajendiran		BHEL, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu	
12	Pothempally Xavier Joseph		Naval Ship Repair Yard, Kochi	
13	Upendra Kumar		TATA Steel Ltd., Bistupur, Jameshedpur	
14	Manoj Kumar Vitthal Anekar		TATA Motors Ltd., Pimpri, Pune	
15	Mukul Kumar Srivastava		TATA Steel Ltd., Bistupur,	
16	Mohan Chandra Jha		Jameshedpur	
17	Jitendrakumar Shantilal Patel		Surat Lignite Power Plant, Gujrat	
18	Saroj Kanta Sahoo		TATA Steel Ltd., Bistupur, Jameshedpur	
19	Arvind Chunibhai Patel		Larsen & Toubro Ltd., Hazira Gujarat	
20	Ram Das	¥	Hindalco Industsries Ltd., Renukoot, UP	