Prime Minister Shram awards for 2010 Announced to 76 Workers

The Government of India today announced the Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the year 2010 to be awarded to 76 workers employed in the Departmental Undertakings & Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments and Private Sector Units employing 500 or more workers in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind. Prime Minister's Shram Awards recognize the outstanding contributions made by workmen as defined in the Industrial Dispute Act, 1947 in organizations both in public and private sector and who have distinguished record of performance, devotion to duty of a high order, specific contribution in the field of productivity, proven innovative abilities, presence of mind and exceptional courage and also to the workmen who have made supreme sacrifice of laying down their lives in the conscientious discharge of their duties

This year, no nomination was found suitable for the presitigious Shram Ratna Award. Shram Ratna common for both the Public and Private Sectors, carries Rs.2,00,000 cash Award and a 'Sanad', is given to a worker who has really outstanding calibre and has made exceptional all round contribution. Twelve nominations for the Shram Bhushan Award, Thirty Eight nominations for Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana and Twenty Six nominations for Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards have been selected. Even though, the total number of Shram Awards is 33, the number of workers receiving the Awards is 76 (including one women), as some of the Awards have been shared by workers and/or teams of workers consisting of more than one worker. These include 57 workers from the public sector and 19 workers from the private sector.

SHRAM BHUSHAN

Total number of Shram Bhushan Awardees are twelve. It carries a cash award of Rs. 1,00,000/- and a 'Sanad'. Nine nominations were found suitable for the Shram Bhushan Award for the year 2010 in respect of Public Sector Undertakings. The Shram Bhushan Awards in respect of Public Sector undertakings are given to S/Shri S. Karuppiah, R.Jagadeesan, A.Veerappan, S. Raja (jointly) all from Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd

Tiruchirapalli and S/Shri Mukund Mohan, Narayan Rao, Toran Lal Sahu, Girivar Prasad Sharma, G.B.S Choudhary (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and in respect of Private Sector to S/Shri Sachikanta Mahato and Rajesh Kumar Dwivedi (Jointly) both from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Swapan Bera from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur.

SHRAM VIR/VEERANGANA

Total number of Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Awardees are thrity eight. It carries a cash award of Rs. 60,000/- and a 'Sanad'. No female worker from Public Sector and Private Sector was found suitable for Shram Veerangana Award. The Shram Vir awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertakings are (One nomination in lieu of Shram Ratna) S/Shri Khirsai Patel, Ajay Kumar Sahu, Sudhir Kumar Banchhor, Bharat Wadalkar, and Nagendra Sah (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and S/Shri Rajesh Kumar Tikiriha, Binay Krishna Ghosh, Reyazul Khan, Prem Chandra Kaushik and Ajazul Haque Quraishi (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and S/Shri Prashant Dutta, Mahendra Kumar Rathod, Andrius Johan, Kirti Kumar Dewangan and Dewalu Ram Gajendra (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and S/Shri Vinay Kumar Thakre, Waheeduddin, Om Prakash Singh Thakur and K.R. Joseph (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and S/Shri Ashutosh Kumar Choubey, Indiwar Awasthi, Khitish Chand Acharjee, Ravindra Singh and Samay Lal Kosta (jointly) all from Bhilai Steel Plant and S/Shri Sushil Kumar Adhikary, Ramesh Chandra Swain, Trilochon Mishra and Pramod Kumar Pradhan (jointly) all from Rourkela Steel Plant and S/Shri S. Elumalai and K. Mahadevan (jointly) both from Salem Steel Plant and in respect of private sector the awardees are S/Shri Rajesh, R. Vijay Kumar and Umesh Kumar Mishra (jointly) all from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Sarat Kumar Mahanta from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Sankarsana Biswal from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Shiv Dayal Raghuvanshi from National Engineering Industries Ltd., Jaipur and Shri Subodh Kumar Sahay from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri H. Rajanna from L&T Komatsu Ltd., Bangalore.

SHRAM SHREE/DEVI

Total number of Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awardees are twenty six. It carries a cash award of Rs. 40,000/- and a 'Sanad'. one female workers from Public sector have been selected for

Shram Devi Awards for this year. The Shram Shree/Shram Devi awardees in respect of Public Sector Undertakings are S/Shri Prasan Kumar Pradhan, Ramesh Chandra Dhal and Ramakanta Barik (jointly) all from NTPC and S/Shri Mohinder Kumar and Pawan Kumar Khanna (jointly) both from NTPC and Shri M.C. Anil Kumar from Tarapur Atomic Power Station, Tarapur and Shri A. Kamaraj from Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd, Ranipet and Shri Awadhesh Sharma from Bokaro Steel Plant, Bokaro and Shri Diwan Yeshwant Kamble from Indian Ordnance Factory, Ordnance Factory, Ambernath and S/Shri Avijit Kumar Chanda, Sasanka Roy, Soumen Mondal, Atanu Sain, Rathin Banerjee (jointly) all from Durgapur Steel Plant, Durgapur and Miss Tanuja Patnaik, S/Shri Sachida Nanda Mahanta, Ananta Charan Nayak and Bhagaban Dash (jointly) all from Rourkela Steel Plant, Rourkela. In respect of private sector the awardees are Shri Vinod Kumar M Patel from Reliance Industries Ltd, Surat and Shri Rajesh Tribhovandas Patel from Reliance Industries Ltd, Surat and Shri Prabhu Narayan Singh from Hindalco Industries Limited, Renukoot, Sonebhadra and Shri B. Gouri Shankar Rao from J.K. Paper Mills, Jaykaypur, Orissa and Shri Pintu Mohan Kundu from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur and Shri Dilip Madhav Raut from Larsen & Toubro Ltd., Mumbai and Shri Solanki Jayendrabhai Himatlal from Excel Crop Care Ltd, Bhaynagar and Shri Niranjan Kar from Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur.