PRIME MINISTER'S SHRAM AWARDS FOR 2002

The Government today (i.e. 25/01/2003 announced the Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the year 2002 to be awarded to 35 workmen employed in the Departmental Undertakings and Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.

This year, no workman has been found suitable for Shram Ratna Award. As such, three Shram Bhushan Awards including one in lieu of Shram Ratna Award have been selected this year. In addition, six entries have been selected for Shram Vir and eight for Shram Shri/Shram Devi Awards. Even though the total number of Shram Awards is only 17, the number of workmen receiving the Awards is 35 (including 2 women), as some of the Awards have been given to team of workmen consisting of more than one person.

SHRAM RATNA

This is the highest Award (one in number) among the Shram Awards and carries a cash award of Rs.2,00,000/- along with a `Sanad'. No nomination was found suitable for the Shram Ratna Award. The Committee decided to distribute this award in the category of Shram Bhushan.

SHRAM BHUSHAN

Total number of Shram Bhushan Awards is three (two as per the scheme and third in lieu of Shram Ratna). It carries a cash award of Rs. 1,00,000/- and a 'Sanad' each. The Shram Bhushan Awardees are, a team comprising of S/Shri Arvind Kumar Saha, Alok Kumar Shrivastav, Avneesh Mishra, Sanjay Kumar Singh and Ghanshyam Sharma (Jointly) of Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilai ;Shri Ram Chandra Malhotra of BHEL, Hardwar and a team comprising of S/Shri Vishnu Kant Singh Kushwah and Manjeet Singh (Jointly) of National Capital Power Station , Dadri (NTPC).

SHRAM VIR

Six Shram Vir Awards carrying a cash award of Rs.60,000/- and a `Sanad' each are being given. The Shram Vir Awardees are,Shri Basudeo Choudhary of Bokaro Steel Plant (SAIL); Shri S. Rajendran of BHEL, Bangalore; Shri Sunil Kumar Panigrahi of Rourkela Steel Plant; Shri Junneti Satyanarayana of Research Centre Imarat, Hyderabad (DRDL); a team comprising of S/Shri Sarbada Mishra, and Pancham Prasad (Jointly) of Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station (NTPC) and Jointly to Shri A. Appalakonda of Naval Dockyard, Vishakhapatnam & a team comprising of S/Shri Indukuri Venkata Ramaraju, Naine Shyamraj, Mohd. Abdul Salim Durrani and Danda Chandra Mohan Reddy (Jointly) of Nuclear Fuel Complex, Hyderabad.

SHRAM SHRI / SHRAM DEVI

Shram Shri / Shram Devi Award (eight in number) carries a cash award of Rs.40,000/- and a 'Sanad' each. A team comprising of two women workers namely Smt. Thanappa Lakshmamma and Ms. Kamalamma (Jointly) of HMT Watch Factory, Bangalore has been selected for Shram Devi Award. In addition, seven entries have also been selected for Shram Shri Awards. These are, Shri T. Rajendran of BHEL Trichy; Shri S. Sandhanam of BHEL, Trichy; Shri Chandra Moger of BEL, Bangalore; Shri Ram Kumar Thakur of Bhilai Steel Plant; Sh. G.S. Gopalakrishnan of Southern Railway, Trichy; Jointly to Shri Prabhat Kumar of HAL, Nasik, Shri Durairajan Ganesan of Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam and a team comprising of S/Shri Sumarat Lal Uike, Babu Lal, Shankar Lal Kurrey, Dhan Singh Chandrakar, Krishna, of Bhilai Steel Plant.; and Jointly to Sh. Girish K. Uruval of HMT Watch Factory, Bangalore and Shri Abdul Rashid Khan of HMT Watch Factory, Srinagar.