PRIME MINISTER'S SHRAM AWARDS FOR 2004

The Government announced the Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the year 2004 to be awarded to workmen employed in the Departmental Undertakings and Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.

SHRAM RATNA

This is the highest Award (one in number) among the Shram Awards and carries a cash award of Rs.2,00,000/along with a `Sanad'. The Screening Committee did not consider any nominee eligible for the Shram Ratna Award. The Committee took a conscious view that the core input of nominees be taken into consideration before deciding the category of Award to be conferred.

PUBLIC SECTOR

SHRAM BHUSHAN

Shri S.P. Gupta, Chargeman, BHEL, Haridwar

SHRAM VIR/SHRAM VEERANGANA

The number of Awards under this category has been increased from 6 to 7 due to higher category awards being converted into lower category.

- Shri Satyawan Nayak, Chargeman-cum-Sr. Technician, Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilali
- Shri M. Subramanian, General Technician, BHEL, Tiruchirapalli.
- Shri M. Sudhakar Reddy, Technician, BHEL, Hyderabad.
 - o Shri Bihari Lal Dhruw, Artisan Grade I
 - o Shri Sunil Kumar Soni, Artisan Grade II (Both from BHEL, Bhopal) (Jointly)
- Shri Mahi Pal Singh, Asstt. Foreman, BHEL, Haridwar.
 - o Shri A.K. Kerketta, Chargeman-cum-Master Technician
 - o Shri Trilochan Maharana, Sr. Technician., (Both from Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilai) (Jointly)
- Smt. Valluripalli Vijayalakshmi, Sr. Tech. Asstt., DRDL, Hyderabad, DRDO.

SHRAM SHRI / SHRAM DEVI

The number of awards under this category has been increased from 8 to 9, as one extra award is being given in lieu of the Shram Ratna Award.

- (i) Shri Murugan G., Chargeman
- (ii) Shri Ramachandra T., Sr. Mech. Gr.III
- (iii) Shri Chandrashekar H., Mech. Gr. I
- (iv) Shri Mylarappa H., Electrician Gr. II
- (All from BHEL, Bangalore) (Jointly)
- (i) Shri D. Murugasatasaram, High Pressure Welder "B", BHEL, Tiruchirapalli.
- (ii) Shri K. Rajendran, Foreman, BHEL, Bangalore. (Jointly)

Shri Mohammed Dastagir, Artisan 'B', Electronic Corporation of India Ltd., Hyderabad.

(i) Shri Faheem Mohammed, Chargeman cum Master Technician.

(ii) Shri Abhay Deshpande, Chargeman cum Senior Technician,

(iii)Shri Malkeet Singh, Chargeman cum Senior Technician,

(iv)Shri Rajesh Kumar Besra, Sr. Tech.

(v) Shri Nagendra Kumar Yadav, Tech. (All from Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilai) (Jointly)

(i) Shri T. Kamaraj, Technician/Fitter

(ii) Shri G. Pichu, Chargeman, (Both from BHEL, Tiruchirapalli)(Jointly)

(i) Shri K. Rajashekar, Sr. Technician,

(ii) Shri T. Padmanabhachary, Sr. Tech (Both from SAIL, Bhadravati) (Jointly)

Shri Rajendra Vishnu Kasar, Sr. Tech, Rashtriya Chemicals and Fertilizers Ltd., Mumbai.

Smt. V. Bhuvaneswari, Sr. Tech. Asstt., Advance System Laboratory, DRDO, Hyderabad.

Smt. Ravita Singh, Sr. Tech. Asstt., Indian Telephone Industries, Mankapur.

PRIVATE SECTOR

SHRAM BHUSHAN:

The Screening Committee did not consider any nominee from the Private Sector to be eligible for Shram Bhushan Award this year.

SHRAM VIR/SHRAM VEERANGANA:

The number of Awards under this category has been increased from 6 to 8 as two extra awards have been recommended in lieu of Shram Bhushan Awards.

Shri Kartik Kumar Mandal, Foreman, TISCO, Jamshedpur.

Shri Birajdar Prakash Vishvanath, Multi Skilled Operator, Bajaj Auto Ltd, Aurangabad.

Shri Chavan Subhash Ramdas, Operator (Machinist) – 3, Bajaj Auto Ltd, Pune.

Shri Kadam Vijay Bhikaji, Fabricator, Larsen & Toubro, Mumbai.

Shri Sushil Kumar, Operator, Tata Motors Ltd, Lucknow.

Shri Ram Kailash, Operator (Special Grade), Hindalco Ltd, Sonebhadra.

Shri Mahadik Sampatrao Bhagawan, Operator, Bajaj Auto Ltd, Aurangabad.

Mrs. Jaswant Kaur, Junior Operator, TISCO, Jamshedpur.

SHRAM SHREE/SHRAM DEVI:

Shri Suresh Prasad, Instrument Mechanic, Hindalco Ltd, Sonebhadra.
Shri Hari Prakash Pandey, Asstt. Foreman, Jindal Steel and Power Ltd, Raigarh.
Shri Mahesh Yashwantrao Sewlikar, Multi Skill Operator, Bajaj Auto Ltd, Aurangabad.
Shri B. Sanmukh Rao, Chargeman (Fitter) Indian Aluminium Co. Ltd, Orissa.
Shri Rafiqulla Saheb Shaikh, Specialist, Larsen & Toubro Ltd, Mumbai.
Shri Dhiren Kumar Maher, Operator CL-II, Tata Chemicals Ltd, Gujarat.
Mrs. Domini Murmu, Sepoy cum Driver, TISCO, Jamshedpur.
Mrs. Asha Hansda, Jr. Technician, TISCO, Jamshedpur.