PRIME MINISTER'S SHRAM AWARDS FOR 2003 ANNOUNCED

The Government today (i.e. 14/08/2003) announced the Prime Minister's Shram Awards for the year 2003 to be awarded to 38 workmen employed in the Departmental Undertakings and Public Sector Undertakings of the Central and State Governments in recognition of their distinguished performances, innovative abilities, outstanding contribution in the field of productivity and exhibition of exceptional courage and presence of mind.

This year, a team of five workmen has been selected for the Shram Ratna Award. Two entries have been selected for the Shram Bhushan Award. Six entries have been selected for Shram Vir and eight for Shram Shri/Shram Devi Awards. Even though the total number of Shram Awards is only 17, the number of workmen receiving the Awards is 38 (including 2 women), as some of the Awards have been given to team of workmen consisting of more than one person.

SHRAM RATNA

This is the highest Award (one in number) among the Shram Awards and carries a cash award of Rs.2,00,000/- along with a `Sanad'. The Shram Ratna Awardees are a team comprising of S/Shri Mahender Kumar Gulati, Ramji Rangari, Sunil Kumar Singh, Sandeep Kumar Borkar and Mubarak Ali (Jointly) of Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilai.

SHRAM BHUSHAN

Total number of Shram Bhushan Awards is three (two as per the scheme and third in lieu of Shram Ratna). It carries a cash award of Rs. 1,00,000/- and a 'Sanad' each. The Shram Bhushan Awardees are a team comprising of S/Shri C. Hanumanthaiah, S. Titesh and N. Rajashekar (Jointly) of BHEL, Bangalore and Shri B.U. Jayachandran Unnithan of Southern Railway, Coonoor.

SHRAM VIR

Six Shram Vir Awards carrying a cash award of Rs.60,000/- and a 'Sanad' each are being given. The Shram Vir Awardees are a team comprising of S/Shri Giramoni Anjaiah, Pothuganti Narayana Reddy, Vakkalagadda Manohar, Surapaneni Satyanarayana, Neelam Ramachander, Mandhula Lingaiah and Putti Veera Venkateswarlu (Jointly) of Nuclear Fuel Complex Hyderabad; a team comprising of S/Shri C.L. Verma, P.K. Tembhurkar, E. Minj, D.I. Rao and Venkateshwarlu (Jointly) of Bhilai Steel Plant, Bhilai; Shri Govinda Swamy Ramadass of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Trombay, Mumbai; Shri T.B. Sheik Bagavadeen of Integral Coach Factory, Chennai; Shri Madhurendra Kishore of Bokaro Steel Plant, Bokaro and Jointly to Shri Bhimappa P. Dashyal of BHEL, Bangalore and a team comprising of S/Shri Munisamy

Rajamanickam, C. Lakshmanan, D. Raja, Samaraj Nagarajan and S.K. Venkatachalam (Jointly) of Neyveli, Trichy, Salem, Neyveli and Pondicherry units of Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd, respectively.

SHRAM SHRI / SHRAM DEVI

Shram Shri / Shram Devi Award (eight in number) carries a cash award of Rs.40,000/- and a 'Sanad' each. Two women workers namely Smt. D. Girijamma of HMT, Bangalore and Smt. Harjeet Kaur of Diesel Component Works, Patiala (Railways) have been selected for Shram Devi Award. In addition, six entries have been selected for Shram Shri Awards. These are Shri Sait Panneer Selvam of Bharat Electronics Ltd., Bangalore; Shri C.P. Dwivedi of ITI, Mankapur; Shri Mangi Lal of BHEL, Haridwar; Shri Ratish Chandra Mishra of Hindustan Paper Corporation Ltd., Kagajnagar, Assam; Shri A. Govindarajan of Track Machines Unit, Arakkonam, Southern Railway and Shri Shane Mehdi of Panipat Refinery, IOC, Panipat