Swachh Bharat, External Link that opens in a new window
Home >> Work of IR PL >>

Work of IR PL

IR(PL) Section


  • The Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 and the Industrial Disputes (Central) Rules, 1957.
  • The Trade Unions Act, 1926
  • The Plantations Labour Act, 1951
  • The Industrial Employment (Standing Orders) Act, 1946 AND Rules.
  • The Weekly Holidays Act, 1942
  • The Shops & Establishment Act
  • The National & Festival Holiday Act
  • State Legislations on Industrial Relations.
  • Policy regarding Works Committees and functioning of Works Committees in the Central Sphere.
  • General issues connected with taking action under the E.S.M. Act, 1981 and the Defence and Internal Security of India Rules.
  • Grievance redressal of employees of hospitals and educational institutions etc. falling under Central sphere.
  • Job security for supervisory and middle management personnel.
  • The Participation of Workers in Management Bill, 1990 and implementation of Scheme on Employees Participation in Management.
  • Matters relating to Declaration of various Industries as Public Utility Services after every six month under the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947.
  • Industrial Tripartite Committee on Plantation Industry.
  • Industrial Tripartite Committee on Road Transport Industry.
  • Industrial Tripartite Committee on Sales Promotion Employees.


Section Name: Industrial Relations (Policy Legal)
Room No.: 309(A)
Telephone No.: 23473313
Auto: 2313, 1320

Officers in Channel:

Assistant: Smt. Suchismita Ghosh, Shri P. Mannan
Economic Officer: Smt. Pushp Lata Sharma
Under Secretary: Shri Arunjay Kumar
Deputy Director: Shri S.C. Sharma
Director (IR): Shri Babu Cherian
Joint Secretary: Shri A.C. Pandey
Secretary - Smt. Gauri Kumar
Minister of Labour & Employment - Shri Narender Singh Tomar
Minister of State (L&E)- Shri Vishnudeo Sai